Lamar softball team to play on campus

photo by Brandi Haskett


By Tyler Sumrall
Special to the Business Journal

In March 2015, the Lamar Softball program will get something it has nev­er had before – a brand new on-campus softball facility to call home.

The team, which returned in 2013 after a 25-year absence, has played all of its home games at Ford Fields, lo­cated six miles away on the outskirts of Beaumont.

Head coach Holly Bruder has been campaigning for years to get approval for a facility that was more convenient.

EPA proposes stricter methane emissions reporting standards

Pumpjacks extract oil from a well in Orangefield.


The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) signed two actions Friday, Nov. 14, amending subpart W of the greenhouse-gas reporting program and revising annual methane emissions reporting requirements by oil and gas companies.

One rule, effective Jan. 1, 2015, eliminates certain moni­toring methods currently used by oil and gas companies to report methane emissions and was finalized Nov. 14. A sec­ond rule was proposed that would require new methane emissions data to be reported. This rule is expected to take ef­fect in 2016.

TCEQ calls proposed EPA air quality standards ‘shortsighted’


The Texas Commission on Environ­mental Quality (TCEQ) is opposed to the EPA’s new proposal to strengthen air quality standards, the agency an­nounced in a Nov. 26 press release. The TCEQ response came after the EPA announced a proposal earlier that day to introduce new standards that would “bring ozone pollution standards in line with the latest science” and within a range of 65 to 70 parts per billion (ppb), while taking comment on a level as low as 60 ppb. The proposal, part of the Clean Air Act, is aimed at reducing smog from power plants and factories across the country.

Oil-by-rail industry project boosts Southeast Texas economy

Jefferson Energy Companies updated the county on the progress of its Crude by Rail Terminal project in a Monday, Dec. 1, special presentation at the Jefferson County Commissioners Court.