Lee Smith

Port board appoints Lee Smith as president

Lee Smith was appointed president of the board during a meeting of commissioners Monday, May 21. Smith served as VP from 2013-18.

The Port of Beaumont Board of Commissioners appointed Smith, president; Commissioner Pat Anderson vice president; and Commissioner Georgine Guillory secretary-treasurer. The terms will run until the May 2019 commissioner election.

Port of Beaumont Commission vice-president says secret to success is a positive attitude, education

When walking down the halls at the port administration building alongside Lee Smith, you feel like you’re with a celebrity. Visitors jump up to shake his hand, co-workers come out of their offices to say hello and almost everyone makes it a point to greet him. And, although he has never walked the red carpet or shined on the silver screen, Smith is a local star in his own right.
Lee Smith is Commissioner of Ward 3 for the Port of Beaumont Navigation District of Jefferson County, and vice president of the Port Board of Commissioners.