Higher Education

Lamar University & Lamar State Colleges

LSC-O Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society inductees named

On Friday evening, April 28, The Alpha Nu Gamma Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society welcomed 33 new members for the spring 2017 semester. The Induction Ceremony was held in the LSC-O Student Center gym. Twenty inductees along with their family and friends attended, as well as Phi Theta Kappa officers and advisors.

LSC-O Cypress Branches Art and Literary Journal announces winners

Angel Sehon won the grand prize for two-dimensional art in the annual Cypress Branches Awards Ceremony at Lamar State College-Orange April 17 in the Ron E. Lewis Library.

Other winners in the two-dimensional art category were Kaylin Mitchem, second; Krista Wheeler, third; and Terra Hoffpauir, honorable mention. In the poetry division, Sehon was first; Jamel Roberts, second; Ariana McCaughey, third; and Tiffany Vu; honorable mention. Three-dimensional art winners were Ashley DuBose, first; Brooke Tant, second; Janna West, third; and Hoffpauir, honorable mention.